Education in Orford has a long and fascinating history.
The school, town museum and local records office have evidence which tracks the progress of learning here from as early as 1546.
By 1818 there were already two or three schools in the area with 140 children on roll. This grew to six infant schools - four daily schools and two Sunday schools - over the next 15 years.
In 1872 a National school was built at a cost of £1,200 which was raised by voluntary contributions. Much of the money came from the Lord of the Manor, Sir Richard Wallace, and the rector of the parish, Rev John Maynard. The school was enlarged again in 1891 with a total of 250 pupils.
Today the school is Voluntary Aided – state funded but with a trust or foundation which contributes to the running of the school. The Church still owns the land and buildings and manages the Trust Fund set up by the Rev Maynard’s daughters. The governing body has a majority of members known as Foundation Governors who are selected from members of the five local parishes.
The school population is much smaller now with just 70 pupils on roll. Children from Orford, Sudbourne, Iken, Chillesford and Butley make up most of our number, but we also have pupils from Rendlesham, Tunstall, Eyke, Saxmundham, Leiston and Campsea Ashe.
In recent years the school has been extended and now offers facilities for Orford Pre-School, a dedicated teaching kitchen and a bright,spacious library.
We have three classes: Reception and Years 1 Class 1 (26 children), Years 2,3 and 4 in Class 2 (28 children) and Years 5 and 6 in Class 3 (16 children).